Beer Budget Dressage

I don’t need a farm name, but if I was going to try to hang out a shingle as a “real” dressage rider, Beer Budget Dressage would have to be it. I was thinking this the other night as I was lunging Whitman in the freezing cold with the winds howling against the arena roof. Don’t get me wrong, I have a pretty decent set up for which I am very grateful, but we have worked ourselves hard to have what we do.

Whitman is a good example of this. NitWhit is a very nice (if I do say so myself) horse. In order to be able to afford a horse like that, I had to sell a nice eventer that I had brought along from being a yearling. Some of that money went into buying a very nice prospect as a five month old and then housing and caring for him for three years before I could start him. Hopefully some day it will all pan out.

Leave a Reply

