Part II – Paranoia

Paranoia is also a lesson I have learned from my horses, particularly thanks to the OTTB half of the wonder twins. I did not want to finish the last post until after the event at Erie. I am a firm believer in Murphy’s Law, which I feel runs contrary to much of the rest of my life philosophy. One of my father’s favorite sayings was “There are no accidents, only caused occurrences”. I assume you, dear reader (are there any of you??) can figure out the portion of the conversation that preceded my father’s comment. Another saying that resonated with me was “there is no such thing as bad luck, only a lack of preparation”. A third pearl of wisdom that I really try to live by is “hope for the best and plan for the worst”, yet I still cannot shake Murphy. Overall, I consider myself to lead a fairly charmed existence, but for Ries it is a bit of a different story.

But, it is with extreme gratitude and humility, that I humbly announce that this weekend at Ries’ first USEA event, we won Beginner Novice (Division C) at Erie this weekend. It is the first time that I have won at a recognized event. I have been second,third on a reasonably regular basis, and even eliminated twice .

So perseverance has paid off at this point.

One comment on “Part II – Paranoia

  1. Helen Ihasz says:

    Congrats to you and Ries! Maybe Murphy will leave you alone for awhile!

Leave a Reply

