Bi polar mother nature and Murphy’s Law

I actually have a pile of school work to get started on (thank you common core), but with impending doom for Mac’s grapes, I am having a hard time convincing myself to get started. Horses have always been my favorite form of escapism, so reading and writing about them is a close second. 

Its been a high “Murphy’s Law ” factor over the last few days. Whitman is now sporting his first set of shoes. Actually, he is sporting three of his four shoes. The left front did not make it 24 hours before he sprung it and I had to pull it off of the rest of the way. Bill did a great job with six of the eight clenches – plenty of grunting and swearing involved.

Friday night, I had a great ride on Riesling. He really has a hard time sitting on his hind end and gets very worried about canter. Friday night’s ride left me feeling like we are going to be able to work through it. Riesling really frets about some of the work, but just has such a tremendous heart. Part of the reason that some of the work is tricky for him is that he doesn’t do things half way. He either lolly gags his way through, or does it with tremendous effort. 

On Saturday, I was really looking forward to working him again and building on the night before. I curried his incredibly furry body and was starting on his right front when I noticed dried blood on his knee. My eyes followed the blood trail up his leg to a nice brush burn and puncture high on his forearm under the long winter hair. Short of a signed confession, it was very clearly the toe of Whitman’s shiny new shoe (one of the three remaining) and the puncture was from the trailer on the outside hind heel. (*Head/wall, head/wall*). I have not let Ed put trailers on Ries’ hind shoes so that he does not hurt Whitman. Whitman normally chews on other horses’ butts until they are entirely fed up and let him have it. How Ries got kicked is beyond me. I blame myself and some weird karma curse that Ries and I have. Friday night I made the mistake of downloading a form for an eventing clinic in two months. Murphy evidently felt I was getting uppity. 

Other than needing some antibiotics, Riesling is fine and has not taken a lame step. However, if anyone sees me doing some bizarre dance around the barn and waving feathers like they are a magic wand, burning incense and chanting, I have not lost my mind, but am trying to banish karma demons. Maybe I will go to mass this next Sunday or something. (I am sorry father, for I have sinned. Its been my whole life since my last confession. In fact, I fully expect to be hit by lightening after trying to pull this off. However, if you could not hit the horse, that would be appreciated). 

Leave a Reply

